thought on Zeta boats

My dad owned an 18 foot Zeta hull. Many happy days on that boat and its still running solid at over 35 years old. If I could talk my cousin into selling it to me I would buy it back. That baby cruised at over 55 mph and would pull 4 of us skiing lol. So I would give it a 2 thumbs up as long as the hull structure has not changed. [8D]

Howdy Tubbed!

Indeed, I do own a Zeta-19/cuddy and I love it. Due to a 'family' situation I was considering selling her but circumstances have changed and I'm looking at a different tack that might enable me to keep her. I do hope so; it's been over 25-yrs since I've owned a salt-chuck boat.

When I moved to the Island from North Van back in 82' I was a second-term apprentice marine mechanic. I worked the previous summer at Mosquito Creek marina in North Van. At that marina was a boat brokerage and they were selling, among others, brand new Zeta's; primarily 19 and 24 footers. I remember distinctly walking past a shiny new 19 on day and vowing to myself that one day I would own one.

I am not an expert on glass-boats but I have learned a thing or two along the way. You can rest assured if you are looking at a Zeta that the hull is built like a 'brick-sh*thouse'.

Before I bought my 19 I did a little research and managed to track down the original builder. Here's some history for you.

Zeta Boats (Vancouver BC) was started in 1972 by Mike Hutcheson. Mike worked for years for Sangster Boats and in fact married Sangster's daughter. (Sangster sold the company in 72' and it's generally excepted that post 72' Sangster's are of inferior quality.)

Hutcheson built about 150 Zeta/19's and over 400/Zeta 24's from the mid 70's well into the 80's.