Stainless Steel Dodgers and Flashers...

Andrew P

What are people's opinions on stainless steel flashers and dodgers? Pros and Cons? Why are they not used as much; result of plastic revolution?

I have limited experience with them, but had some great success last summer with a Nootka flasher that I was given. It is a larger flasher so it does have some drag, but so would a big plastic one too.

Any advice on leader length, lures/bait choice, distance to flasher from clip, or mooching with a slip weight, add some tape, etc, on any of the below would be much appreciated!!

Here is what I have, top to bottom:

Peetz Dodger/Flasher
Luhr Jensen Nootka Flasher
Roy Smith Roller
Luhr Jensen Mini Flasher(perhaps good with a plug?)
Roy Smith Dodger

Thanks!
flashers.jpg

Don't use anything with a plug.

Dodgers still work but they are for generally slower speeds than we use now.

I have Abe 'n Al flashers bought in the 70's still in the original pack. LOL I look at them once in a while and briefly consider putting one down. Maybe this summer. ;-)

I have Abe 'n Al flashers bought in the 70's still in the original pack. LOL I look at them once in a while and briefly consider putting one down. Maybe this summer. ;-)

Here too! Lots of brand new Abe and Als and Nootka Flashers. Although I rarely use them I do keep a few Nootka Flashers in the boat and have put them on when things get really slow. I just don't like the drag they cause when pulling them in.
Dave

They are tough to get a real flash out of-easy to bend out of shape(easy to customize)-heavier than plastic, probably more expensive to manufacture. Not as versatile as plastic (think of the colours and patterns available). My 2 cents-that's why they became obsolete.

My cousin in Kootenay Lake would buy all of those from you if you decide not to use them? I gave him all mine and he claims they work great for deep summer trolling