My first boat — 1983 Commander 26

Kolbads

My first post, after having read and reread everything I could find here in the last 2-3 months. Considerable sailing experience, no power boat experience. Almost by accident, I now have a 1983 Commander 26, on a trailer. My first boat (not counting 3 or 4 canoes lol). I have no mechanic experience to speak of (one auto engine rebuild 40 years ago, and a bit of tinkering since), but getting keen to get my hands dirty.

Twin 470’s, one runs (compression 130-130-125-125), the other doesn’t (160-155-0-150, #3 problem believed to be stuck lifter), pre-Alpha drives, unknown condition. Hull, deck and cabin look in good condition, no soft spots found, transom solid.

It looks like just about anyone on this forum in my position would be repowering, with outboards. I don’t have the budget. My use will likely be lore cruising, some fishing. The “some fishing” could move up — it’s the reason I just bought a power boat, not a sailboat. My plan is to move the boat to Powell River to do as much as I can myself, limited spending, get her running and seaworthy for not-too-distant cruising this season, see how it feels, and decide where to go from there.

The reliability and maintainability of the 470’s is a concern of course. I’ve read plenty about them now, know their reputation and issues. Also I shudder to think what the cost of fuel on the 470’s will be. Was amazed to read that one forum member reported close to double the mpg with the Volvo D4 on his 26 compared to another with twin 200 and Suzuki outboards.

So, I’m posting to see if many think I’m absolutely crazy, wasting any time and money spent on my minimalist approach for now. Thanks for considering!

Congrats great boat. If you can find an engine throw it in or an affordable repair to the existing! There is a commander group maybe on Facebook who can talk to you about inboard upgrades.