Looking for some fishing advice-Campbell River Area

bugleemup

I am new to Campbell River and love to fish with my wife and kids. Can anyone help me out and give me some pointers on how to catch salmon? I have been out a bunch of times with no luck while watching others catching around me. My 11 year old daughter is getting very discouraged and on WCVI we slay them.

What gear?
How deep?
Setup? Dummy flashers???

Thanks

Flasher and hoochie is a very productive choice in that area.

32-38" leader of 40lb test. Most locations you will be fishing deep so use a flasher with glow.

I would use a green glow flasher with a splatter back hoochie (Yamashita OG140R)

Fish that with confidence and I guarantee you'll see results. Anywhere on the coast.

I know it's not what you were after but congrats on the ling - best eats in our waters in my humble opinion, so not a bad consolation while you continue to figure out the salmon game. Have you been into the local tackle stores? They're in the business to help you catch fish because, as the tackle addicts thread can attest, once you start catching and get hooked you'll be spending a good chunk of change annually at their businesses!! Good luck, keep at her, season's just getting going your luck will change.

Ukee