Halibut drift jigging

fish stalker

I know I have alot of questions but if anyone has answers to anyone please let me know! Cheers :eek: or if someone will chat with me pm me and ill send you my number. :)

I plan on going out this Saturday and Ive been reading all I can about drift jigging. Ive bought books, scoured the net... Ive been hali fishing once and we were anchored. I dont have a gps on my boat and I dont even know how to get to constance and am trying to find a flatter easier area for drifting.

Last Chance had a thread here last year when he talked about hali tides and how they work but I cant find it.

I was wondering could it be possible to time it so I find a ledge or near a hole or pinnicale and motor past it and just try and dirft/troll along the area and have any luck?

Im still learning about currents and tides and how it all plays in. Since I will be drift or trolling how does the current work with the gear action? Anchored you drop a 1-2lb ball down to bottom and just let waves bottom bounce you.(?) Do I use a spreader bar with a pipe jig and giant hootchie''? Im not sure how that keeps the dog fish off? Do I switch up types of jigs for slack or fast running currant?

Do I have to becarful of which way my rods and boat are going in connection with the currant if im running so little weight?

Can I run two rods?

Can I run stuff off downrigger or just let er down till I hit bottom?

Do I need a harpoon? I dont plan on keeping anything over 100lbs. How hard is it to hit that kill spot?

Do I use circle hooks? What size?

I have one reel loaded up with 300ft 80lb braid and a hali rod. Can I use my shimano 4000 mooching 40lb mono with a heavyer leader? with a hali rod. do I put a leader on the braid rod or tie straight to it?

I know Im soo sorry but these are all the questions I couldnt find answers to! :confused::p:eek: