Fenwick HMX

the butcher

Here's my dilemma.... I use 9 footers trolling rods and have 4 entry level Shimano TDR 9'MH rods. They are durable and I can abuse them and great for guests who arent experienced since if they break them it doesn't cost an arm and leg to replace. I am wanting to get a nicer rod for myself for under $150. Cabelas has a sale on the Fenwick HMX for $90. Last night I purchased the 9ft HMX MH action rod. Today, I was looking on this forum and saw some older posts about Fenwick HMX rods being known to break. The HMX won't arrive in the mail until likely 1 week from now and I am trying to figure out whether I should return it when it arrives in the mail. I have been recommended the clarus and technium but those rods only come in the 10.5ft length which I am not a fan off.

For those of you who owned Fenwick hmx, did you get rid of the rod or do you still have it? How often did it break on you?

I have been using mine for 6 years now, still going strong and has caught many many fish.

I have been running HMX rods for years now with absolutely no issues. Been running mine under my MR2 for 14 seasons now, have another two been going for 8 years. These are all the 10’6 models. I also run a 7” HMX Walleye rod going on 5 years now. In my opinion they are the best rod for the price.
Reading this forum I’ve come to the conclusion people can break just about anything, take care of your stuff and service it and it will last you. Abuse it and treat it like ****, get ready to replace it often.