Candy Salmon Dehydrator Change

treblig

13915e48-ef97-44a5-9f1f-0d85d6699d4e.jpg P3060132.JPG P3060131.JPG I have been using this old plastic dehydrator for 20 years . Always having to rotate , change self levels and re arranging the salmon as they dry uneven. I finally bit the bullet and moved over to a large commercial unit especially when it went 20% off. It has 360 degree air movement and the temperature is even from top to bottom and front to back. I will never run out of shelves as the 24 level total 160 liter volume will allow me to do huge volumes.

Here is my candy salmon article:

Whats the next best thing to do when you can't fish cause of weather with all the fish stored in the freezer. YUP it's that time to make candy.

What defines Indian Candy salmon to me? At most time the ones selling Indian candy salmon is really a smoked fish that's been soaked in sweet/salty brine. As usual the smoking process produces a product that is moist, colorful, full of flavor but I still considered a smoke fish even though they call it candy. Candy salmon to me is hard, dry, tougher than jerky, thicker than jerky and full of flavor.