Anchovies teaser heads

Oly1

Well we're headed up to Winter Harbour just after the August long weekend. I am usually a gear fisherman and have used spoons and hootchies for the most part. I have been told that anchovies are being used a lot up there and am going to try them. My question is what teaser head (brand and colour) would be the best to use as i am an anchovies newb. Any thoughts or suggestions on how to rig and fish them would be appreciated as well.

Thanks in advance

Hard to beat the tried and true Rhys Davis teaser heads. I Like the newer bullet troll heads as they produce an almost fool proof tight bullet roll. As far as colors I like purple haze for overcast days, green or blue with chrome or gold for sunny days, bloody nose and green chartreuse for glow. That should get you started. I'm sure others will have other color favorites.

http://www.gibbsdelta.com/pdfs/RhysDavis_Catalogue.pdf

As far as rigging goes I like two treble hooks, larger in front, smaller in rear (some guys like a single trailer hook like in the pic below). You can also fit then with a stainless steel wire (have pre-drilled holes now) to help the bait keep the bend/shape you want

full%20%20metal%20jacket(1).jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
imgres.jpgkrippled anchove spinns perfect every time ,a little harder to find in clear with red pinns.heard more and more people omiting pin for a toothpick