What's the best way to remove silcone off gelcoat?

Sir Reel

I am redoing my bow pulpit and have to remove the film of silicon that was underneath it. I can do the old fashion way of scrap and clean but was wondering if anyone has a trick to remove easier?
In the picture the entire square is a layer of clear silicone.

Attachments

• Bow Pulpit.jpg
    Bow Pulpit.jpg
    34.4 KB · Views: 263
Sir reel,
I'm a contractor. We use that product shown above plus a Citrus spray product from Industrial Plastics in Victoria. I think Crappy tire also sells the Citrus spray one too. A good trick used by my shower glass installer is plastic razor blades, He gets them from Lee Valley and I think industrial plastics. If you can't find them up there send me a PM and I will track some down and sent them Up to you

I use a razor blade with lots of glass cleaner sprayed as a lubricant, but be carefull if you do this, you dont want to slip or scratch the boat either,
once you have done it a few times you get the feel of it,
if theres any in the non skid area use a real stiff brush vigorously to remove

Thanks guys! I will try the silicone remover and we have an Industrial plastics in town so will see if I can get the plastic razor blades or Citrus spray.

What a great resource this forum is. Awesome help.
Its like having an expert on everything.

The plastic razor blades are excellent (and for many other projects). They come in two strenghts, one is a little softer. You can put them in any tools/scrapers that hold a standard metal blade, sized the same.

In the future, don't use silicone but rather other more easily removable (and better) sealants like Silkafkex for example. Silicone is my last choice of a sealant for a glass boat since it is such a PITA to remove completely.

1" strips of plexi glass sharpend on the end with a belt sander . I worked for 12 years in the fiberglass boat industry and that's all we used . Never scratches the gel like a razor blade