Transom extension?

sly_karma

Crew Member
Found a good deal on a used Etec 130 with 1150 hours, of which 50% at idle according to printout. Came off a RIB tender for a luxury motor yacht, full maintenance reports and receipts are provided. I like the V4, better power to weight than the 150 hp V6. Would be excellent power for my 19.5 glass hull: cleaner, more reliable and economical than the old 2 strokes I'm used to. The old Lund hull is solid after I did a transom and stringer rebuild four years ago.

But... the Etec has a 25" leg and my transom is 20". I'm a carpenter, I can see how to build a sturdy 5" extension doweled into the existing and then have an aluminum bracket fabricated that would sandwich over the re-glassed taller transom and through-bolt into the original one below. Has anyone seen this done for a midsize motor like this? Traps and pitfalls?

Pro:
  • $4500 for a lightly used modern outboard including rigging and instruments
  • approx half price of lease return motor
  • motor still has 2 years warranty left
  • transom addition would be relatively cheap as I can do most of the labour myself
  • I have a heated shop and engine hoist, can do the re-rigging myself
  • less time and money than pod conversion
  • existing steering cable will switch straight over
  • will improve clearance to kicker - the Etec appears to be a lot narrower than the wide, bulky Merc V6 I have now. Currently the two cowlings foul just short of full steering lock.
  • remote oil tank setup means more compact cowling and gets a bit of weight off the transom
  • Etec weighs same as existing Merc 150
Con:
  • modifying hull structure always carries some risk
  • time and cost of transom work (estimate $500 for materials and aluminum bracket fabrication) - not just a simple engine switch
  • stuck with same boat work space unless pod conversion is done
  • engine mass will sit 5" higher than currently