Storing a pontoon boat

Ian_H

This is my first year with a pontoon boat (Southfork). Is there anything special that I should be doing to store it for the winter? Due to lack of space available I was thinking of taking the frame off and reducing the air pressure in each pontoon. Can the pontoons be stored covered but outside in freezing temperatures, or would it be better to store them in the crawl space, cool but not freezing?

Thanks

Ian

I can't see any problem with storing outside, but always better to store where plastics are not exposed to extreme temperatures (don't know your location).
Storage is always a problem with a pontoon ( I sold mine a couple years ago) but still have and use for other stuff the rack I built for it, rack used 4 pieces of electrical conduit, some hooks, bolts, etc., and held the boat up on the garage ceiling. Swung down to put on, or take off, the boat. If it helps I'll send you a picture and a few more notes.

Ian_H, if I took my boat apart, I would deflate the toons and fold them so that they fit into a large canvas hockey bag. Along with the oars as they were two piece and anything else attached. When done I would have the frame in one hand and the remainder of the equipment in the other. This made for easy storage and of course when travelling, if space was an issue. I have also left the boat fully inflated and stored outside with no problems. Most of these boats are durable and capable of most any conditions. Do whatever makes you the most comfortable, crawl space is good, pain to get to sometimes, and the ceiling mount in the garage could also be an answer, did it myself once when I lived in a townhouse.

Thank's for the advice, guys. Time, I would like to take you up on the offer of a picture and a few notes for your ceiling mount.

Ian