River Expedition Part 1

Sharphooks

Just got back from a 6 day float up in the promised land. I've been doing that trip every May since 1985 and it blows my mind how even with all those years under my belt, it's a completely different show each time I go.

Totally unpredictable. Last year, 2 meters of snow, raging high water, doing laps around the rosary beads going across log jams in Class 4 water in a skimpy little completely over-loaded inflatable, absolutely convinced I was going to tear a hole in a pontoon and drown my sorry arse.

This year, zero snow, zero rain, hot beating sun six days in a row, low clear bony river----dragging across tail-outs, spooky fish, blue-bird sky day after day after day. First year in over 25 years that I never put on my raincoat....(Global Weirding?)...First year that I got down on my knees and thanked the Lord for inventing fluorocarbon fishing line (using the tried and true 10 lb Maxima would have caught me ZERO fish this year once the sun got on the water)

I came home to a completely pissed off girlfriend, a dying dog, and a pile of unreconciled business on my office desk, and had to ask myself (yet again)...."aren't you getting a little too old for trips like this?...."

But pics say it all, and each year I just can't get enough of the North Country and just HAVE to keep going back:

Dawn on the river----the St. Elias Range with the first hint of sunrise on a scalloped ridge line. I knew I had COME BACK HOME when I saw this scene first morning on the river:

First night on the river---no more peanut butter sandwiches for dinner ( like in the good old days)---now we bring a smoked spring caught in Cultus Sound last August, kale, peppers, Masala simmer sauce and buckets of cilantro:

Every night a different camp site---the trick is to set up on a hole that you KNOW has fish, eat dinner while the sun is still on the water, then pound the hole until it's too dark to see

It helps to see this while you're cooking dinner: