PSA: Home Network Security

TenMile

Don't often mix work-stuff with play stuff but thought the group here might find these guides useful. I work in the IT industry and the number of Ransomware attacks going on is getting out of hand.

First, for those with young families at home -- a free service for protecting against inappropriate content (Malware, Ransomware, etc...): https://www.opendns.com/about/press...ols-the-easiest-way-to-keep-kids-safe-online/

For those with a business who want to do some more reading about protecting against Ransomware, here's a good checklist along with a link to a free eBook: https://learn-umbrella.cisco.com/infographics/ransomware-defense-checklist

OpenDNS is free to use for home users and is dead simple to set up.

Thanks for the links, but for complete peace of mind switch to Linux. When my kids were younger if they got an infection I would wipe Windoze and force them to use Linux. I told them when you learn to install Windoze yourself, and can reinstall from a backup without my assistance you can return to using Microsloth again. Best thing I ever did for my kids, gave them the desire to learn how to install, maintain, and restore their own systems. Linux has no virus issues and is totally free. Try it you might actually like it. Every Android phone is basically a mini Linux computer.

Last edited:
Yep, been a Linux home user for years. It's not for everyone as it does take a bit of work under the hood. Getting a Chromebook is one of the easiest ways to enjoy Linux as that's the underlying OS that powers their devices.

OpenDNS works hand and glove with Linux, Playstations, XBOX, Windows, Mac, Android, iPhones etc.... Mobile devices have become a huge and lucrative market for hackers so the cool think about OpenDNS is that you can use it on your smartphone too.

In that checklist I posted above, that eBook is good reading. Worth a look.