Prawning Locations

S

sellsworth001

Howdy Everyone,

I'm new to the Mainland and am wondering where one could find some prawning grounds? Is there any good opportunities around Bowen?

You know where its really good is, Over by the SunShine Coast. but if you want it by Vancouver it would have to be at Point Atkinson . North East of Bowen island is good by the small island.[8D][8D]

quote:Originally posted by orion91

You know where its really good is, Over by the SunShine Coast. but if you want it by Vancouver it would have to be at Point Atkinson . North East of Bowen island is good by the small island.[8D][8D]
Thanks for the info. Is the small island called Bowyer? I checked out the chart and the depth looks good.

Nope, prawning on the Sunshine Coast sucks, everyone stay away!!!

Sorry, have to go shovel the prawns off the front of the island now. They really stink if we don't push them all back into the ocean at least once a week :D

Only the southern section where all the "crowds" are is closed. From Lund north has been open year round for the last two years. ALL the good stuff on the Sunshine Coast is just north of Lund :) Seven marine parks all just north of Lund... dozens and dozens of islands all just north of Lund... warmest ocean water in Canada again just north of Lund...

Okay that might have been a bit of marketing :D

We're actually a little concerned about how many commercial prawn boats we are going to get in the area this year. Last year Nanaimo closed so quickly that most of their boats came up to the Powell River/Lund area and the concern is they may come back this year. In my humble opionion if an area can't sustain a year-round sport fishing industry then there shouldn't BE a commercial industry in that area. Sport fishing benefits many, commercial fishing benefits a very small few...

SIR you have it completely backwards.