how do you subdue an Octopus????

Drewski Canuck

We went out with a guide out of Moutcha Bay for Halibut. Jimbo was a master and we boated 5 Hali near the upper end of the size limit. We also brought up an Octopus that fought like you cannot imagine. When we got it to the top, the "arms" were about 3 ish foot long, and I would guess about 20 pounds. I have tasted Octopus done in teriyaki sauce and it is goooood!!!

Problem was, no one knew what to do with the Octopus and after a while we finally shook it off.

It inked a huge area so I am going to guess you deal with it in the water. How do you kill these things so you can safely bring it aboard, and then how do you handle it in the fish locker?

Drewski

You can wrestle it, stab it, beat it... and it will just stick to your boat and suffer.
Or
You can put a bucket near it on the bottom of the boat and it will climb in it like a cave. Lid on and in the freezer at home to kill.

Lesson I learned. LOL!

I'm no expert but Ive dealt with a few prawning... Dealing with them in the water would be nice but unless there's some way I've never seen they are just too fast and smart for it to be possible. My method is to flop it on the deck to slightly disorientate them and quickly behead it with a large sharp knife. If you aren't fast it will be on the move and if you try and hold it for too long it will wrap itself up in tentacles to protect itself.

I've heard to kill them, you need to quickly grab a tentacle near their head, then with your other hand you grab the top of the head itself, then force the head down into itself and out through it's own mouth. Not sure if that's the correct way these days, it's just what I remember learning in school about the traditional fishing methods of some indigenous peoples. Seems like just taking the head off would be a quick an easy method though...

Last edited by a moderator: