Honda Power? Any good?

jeffb

I have zero knowledge of honda outboards. I am currently looking at a vessle with honda 150's, low hours. After a brief scan of the internet I see that there seems to be a bit of concern regarding getting hondas serviced. Is it just a service center issue? or maintenence?
Does anyone run a honda? Can anyone tell me pro's con's?
The boat im looking at is a 224 grady with twin 150's. Are twins on that boat even a good Idea? I love the security of having twins out on the water but will I have issues getting on plane etc?

any input would be greatly appreciated!!

Thanks

I have run a Honda for 7 years now, (albeit only a 50 HP)
and it's been very good and reliable. I do my own general maintenance
although there are dealers in Victoria and Vancouver.
The only complaint i have is they seem to have external corrosion issues.
That could be related to the age of the motor which is a 1999 model
and the fact that it is run in salt water exclusively.

I had an interesting conversation recently with a former Honda mechanic who is now working for his own shop. He told me to stay away from any newer Hondas outboards. He said they took so many shortcuts in the design, cheap materials and cheap components and he was basically only changing the same things out day in day out for the Honda dealers that he got frustrated enough to leave. He swears by the older (I think he said pre 2005) models but suggested to stay away from newer models. Now, I cannot comment on this opinion as all I have from Honda is a 2003 8hp kicker which I am happy with. But maybe something to dig into a bit more before you buy an expensive outboard.

Well I heard from another mechanic.........................haha. Just sayin'.

Every mechanic will bash some other outboard regardless of brand.

I run Honda's and they have been great motors. I run a 225 and a 9.9. The only problem I have heard about is the price. I have zero external corrosion problems on both of my engines.