For The Love of Fiberglass

demco99

Hey guys,

As a newbie to boat ownership I have a couple questions about keeping my fiberglass looking good. It's an 18' Whaler Outrage - Going to cut-polish and wax her in my driveway this week. What products for each do you recommend? Do I need to get my hand on a power buffer? How long do I leave each product on before removal etc? How many reapplications are necessary? Nearly complete newb when it comes to this stuff just know how to fish!

There's a noticeable difference between the hull itself and the fiberglass above the rub rail - I'm guessing the area above hasn't been cutpolished or waxed in awhile is what caused this. Should I use the same products above the rub rail? Do it all by hand(no buffer)? Is there better stuff to use on the non-skid(traction wax)? How do you guys get around the cleats and hard to reach areas?

Would love general knowledge as well - how many times per season should I give her this cutpolish/wax treatment? Just some Vim and a good rinse of freshwater sufficient after a day's fishing?

Cheers

If it's really bad us a proper cut polish, then wax...if not too bad you can use the 3M combo products (they come in a range of grits). Below the rub rail has seen less direct sun so should need less work.

To do a proper job of cut-polishing...you need a proper polisher with adjustable rpm equiped with a proper polishing pad. If you use the right tools and product you bring any gelcoat back to like-new condition. Canadian Tire has one 50% off right now for $50 that will do for your purposes...you'll need to buy the pad separately.
Apply the polish directly to the pad or the boat...either way works...I use a paint brush (only apply enough to do about 2'x2'). Polish the area until the product is gone (keep moving).