Descaling salmon with a pressure washer

Don't know if this is common knowledge or if its something I stumbled on but I've been using a high pressure washer to descale fish for processing for a few yrs. Slickest thing you've ever seen. For smoking or canning where you might want to leave the skin on or just to be able to hold onto the fish & remove the slime for further processing. My pressure washer is about 1200 psi & 1 3/4 gal per minute. Just position the salmon tail towards you so your shooting into the scales. It will descale a 30 lb spring in about two to three minutes. Clean as a whistle. Your can even remove the coloration from the skin so it looks like doeskin leather. Won't ever perforate the skin as long as the nozzle is held at an angle. Take the messiest & time consuming part (especially on the old springs)of processing & makes it the easiest part.

I have watched guys do this at Westport with just a strong garden hose at the cleaning stations. It really works well. I always fillet my salmon lengthways, so I don't care about scales. I put the skin side down in foil when cooking. Another neat trick is to cut the two fillets off of the sides of the salmon. Next, cut them crossways about 4" wide. Then cut it again in the middle all of the way to the skin, but not through the skin. Fold it so the skin is back to back. Looks like a nice crosscut fillet.

No! Won't damage the meat. Not even a bit. Water won't penetrate the skin at all unless you make a determined effort to do so. Knowing what I do & I was one of you good ole boys on the coast that fish all the time, I wouldn't be without one!

Been doing it for years , thought everyone knew of the method , my mistake should have posted some time ago.....sorry.

AL

Yea, i just also do that but with just with a regular garden hose and nozzle. Works like a damn. Good call to post it though as Im sure not every one knows about it.