Cylinder head gasket help requested - 1996 Johnson 90hp 2 stroke

Saxe Point

Sorry for the elementary questions, but I'm just learning. I'm trying to install a new cylinder head (spark plug threads stripped on the original) and I'm at the point where I need to put the gasket on. The gasket has some language on it indicating orientation: "top, arrow to exhaust cover". Below are the photos which demonstrate what I believe to be the correct orientation . In other words the top is at the top and the arrow is towards the left, because the exhaust holes in the cylinders are to the left. Have I got this right? Again, sorry for the basic questions. I just can't afford to make a mistake here and blow up this motor.

One other question, do I have to do anything with the cylinder head bolts? Should I put grease on them, anti-seize compound etc. or just screw them in the way they are.

Thanks in advance!

ujetysan.jpg
a4uzy2ep.jpg
y8e9aduq.jpg
batuzy6u.jpg

Looks right to me. Make sure you use a flat bar with a made for metal sand paper to make sure the surfaces of the block and head are level and clean. I use a piece of flat steel about 1/4 thick and 3 inches across and the length of a sheet of paper.

don't grease the bolts just make sure they are very clean and use some blue lock tite sparingly. Sounds like you are pretty to dialed in to tackle this project. good luck

beemer

don't grease the bolts just make sure they are very clean and use some blue lock tite sparingly. Sounds like you are pretty to dialed in to tackle this project. good luck

beemer