Cleaning Carb on 9.9 Yami ???

I was reading about the old school nasty cleaner online as I searched carb cleaning. Apparently it is hard on your eyes, not good to breath and wear gloves as it can destroy your skin and cause it to crack and bleed. Don't know if you need special gloves.
If you're anywhere near Nanoose I could help you with your carb. I'm not a mechanic but have had my yami 9.9 carb apart many times. They are relatively straight forward, just need to be careful to not lose any of the little parts when you're turning in upside down ;)

I am in Victoria, but the boat stays in Sooke and is currently in a slip in a Marina. This is a fairly new 9.9ht without a lot of hours on it.

We have worked on kickers in the water before by backing the boat into the slip, which gives us access to the kicker on the pod. We have replaced T-stats, plugs etc on a previous kicker this way, but I think removing a carb would be a bit much for this method. Awkward, down low on the water, and too much risk of dropping small parts in the bottom of the cowl or overboard.

To work on the kicker for this, we would have to pull the boat and remove the carb, or remove the hard mounted remote control kicker and bring it to Victoria. That is actually a bit of work.

Gotcha, I was gonna offer help but it's a bit far from CR!

I was reading about the old school nasty cleaner online as I searched carb cleaning. Apparently it is hard on your eyes, not good to breath and wear gloves as it can destroy your skin and cause it to crack and bleed. Don't know if you need special gloves.
I have a tin of the stuff...old school carb cleaner. It stinks so don't leave your parts in an open container.

This stuff works.

Attachments

• 9F41FACF-D0C1-42FB-8596-3FB6AB84FEFD.jpeg
    9F41FACF-D0C1-42FB-8596-3FB6AB84FEFD.jpeg
    164.3 KB · Views: 14
An Update.