Rod building information.

BryceWCP

Hello everyone.
I have been a member here for a while but have never posted. I’m interested in trying out rod building. So my questions are

what are the basic needed tools

are the kits online worth looking at (mud hole.com etc)

any tips or pointers.

does anyone on here themselves have old equipment just collecting dust?

thanks in advance Bryce!

Evening Bryce,
I have been building rods off and on for the last forty years. When I started out I used a cardboard box with 2 protected V notched to hold the rod blank, a bowl to hold the spool of thread and a book to pass the thread through to hold the tension on the thread. After I had a few rod's behind me I built a rod wrapper based on the one in the book by: Dale Clemens (sp). You will need a good set of fine pointed scissors, sharp blades, a small fine file to dress the guide feet, a burnishing tool to pack thread.
For finishing you will need acetone, brushes, color preserver and epoxy finish. I have not tried the kits at Mudhole but have heard great things about them. If you will be making your own handles you will need a way to turn the cork rings. Maybe best to build the first few with pre-made cork handles.
Other items are masking tape, measuring tape and different grades of sandpaper.... any other questions just ask.

ttys John I

PS also Join rodbuilding.org a great site with tons of help and a good set of sites for parts

Evening Bryce,
I have been building rods off and on for the last forty years. When I started out I used a cardboard box with 2 protected V notched to hold the rod blank, a bowl to hold the spool of thread and a book to pass the thread through to hold the tension on the thread. After I had a few rod's behind me I built a rod wrapper based on the one in the book by: Dale Clemens (sp). You will need a good set of fine pointed scissors, sharp blades, a small fine file to dress the guide feet, a burnishing tool to pack thread.