HP Rating for a custom bracket

sasqman

Crew Member
Hi all,

Now that I'm looking at a repower with a new motor I need to get my custom bracket rated for horsepower to keep the warranty people happy. Anyone know any structural marine engineers that would sign off on it. I will have the boat out of the water next week to get more accurate measurements.

Here is a pic. Its on the boat right now holding my 115hp merc and preforming well. It did get powder coated before installation as well.Screenshot_20200804-124120_Photos.jpg

Thanks!

Last edited:
Usually better to get it signed off when it's still on a blueprint no?
I would have thought N brace the sides stern/transom bottom to engine mount top, not much need for the perpendicular brace from side to side near the stern JMO.. Too much stiffness can be worse than the right amount of flexibility in the right places in a design like that but I'm not an engineer and they are a fussy bunch knowing my son lol!
Early in my fabricating education an old fart looked at my work and told me it's going to crack here and here... he was right lol!

IMG_0668.JPG I hate bureaucracy so my builds are cheap and I just worry about public liability. My airboat I just built it like the guys in Florida have done for years. About 800 lbs of 489 500 hp BBC engine, seat stand attached so say 1500 lbs sitting above the hull with passengers mounted on a 1" square tube rail fastened to the hull, two rear uprights were 2" .125" and the rest 1" tube. 7' diameter propeller with a 2.86/1 reduction. I bet the whirl effect was astronomical when I did spins but I'm not an engineer so I wouldn't know how to calculate that. I would rather have a $4000 outboard (like I said I'm frugal) fall off than have something break on this rig lol!

Last edited:
Usually better to get it signed off when it's still on a blueprint no?