Winter Harbour this week.

Nice Report James, I have been up to WH 3 years in July and August and had some great days (and some not-so-great) in the weather department, but you cannot beat the country. We camped at the campsite at the outpost. Greg Vance was a terrific host and he and his guides were really helpful.

See you at Toquart this summer.

Cheers

Thanks MS for the report-conservation is provided at WH by the weather-no doubt about it. I've been fishing there for over 15 years and kept meticulous journals which are my crutch this time of year. I don't move a wheel until I see a hole. There appears to be one this weekend-doesn't guarantee a thing but will get back to you either way.

(Fish farms) play a part, no doubt, but there is other unkowns that also play a part in any decrease in fish numbers.
Anyways not to side track the original post. Cheers SS

You're absolutely right: habitat destruction, climate change, the Alaskan harvest, poor allocation and management of the stock here, along with other factors, contribute to the decline. However, one of the most influential negative influences on survival has been proven to be open pen fish farms - in the migratory paths. Containing fish farming operations is an easy, although an expensive fix, so we see nothing from the farms other than deception, denial and inaction. The shareholders rule our politics and so our coast suffers.

We are making our first trip this year to Winter Harbour on Thurs. Plan to stay a week then take the boat over to Telegraph Cove for the summer. I will report when I get back next week.Hope the weather co-operates , we have had some great early fishing when the highway is accessible

Myself and a couple buddies will be fishing this Friday and Saturday who all is going to be up in this neck of the woods this weekend.
We will monitor 6