Steel newb

R

rico

So I was following the (steelhead spin cast) thread. I didnt want to hijack it so I started my own thread. Some very good info on that thread. I have been seriously thinking about getting into steelhead and river fishing for trout. I'm just kinda learning the ropes. Where would you guys recommend I go to get a rod and reel. I think I'm gonna try a level wind reel. I'm just lookin for entry level stuff. Overall, I'm a newb in all aspects of fishing(salt,fresh), but I lurk on here. I fish a few times a year, and rarely catch anything when I do, but I really enjoy it, and I am going to give it a good effort this year to get better.
I'm in Vic, but I don't have to buy down here. I can go to buy local, or to the shop in lake cowichan, I don't mind traveling. I don't mind a good deal on good quality used stuff, if the price is right.
Thanks

Last edited by a moderator:
LOL if the dog didn't pizz on the floor I would have beat ya to it holmes*

Well, must be a good deal! That's 2 replies in 5 mins. I'm gonna send him a PM. Thanks guys.

I sent him a PM. Hopefully he still has it. Bit more than I thought it would cost to get in, but then again, I had no idea. Hopefully I can get into some fish this year. I am really looking forward to learning and getting into the sport. May as well start off with the good stuff. I was also thinking of getting a guide for my first time out, just to learn the ropes a bit.

If I didn't have a bunch of kidlettes running around and Xmas coming up I would have been on that like a fat kid on a smarty.

rico, there are a bunch of guys that guide on the Stamp. It is a reasonable price and a reasonable drive from Vic and pretty darn good chance of playing with many steels. Break it down with some buds and you wont regret it.

You will have to remember that multiple fish days steelheading is more of a rarity than the norm. That first fish after a good long dry spell sure makes up for it though ;)