Shimano Tranx 300 - 5.8 or 7.6 Gear Ratio?

J. Farrell

Hello,
I am totally new to bait casting in the ocean, having only fished lakes with spinning gear. I am looking at the Tranx 300, it meets all of the requirements I have for inshore fishing in the Victoria, BC area. My thoughts are on the 5.8 gear ratio, as it will put a bit less stress on my rod & line... maybe, what do I know? I guess the trade-off is slightly slower hook setting & of course, slightly slower retrieve rate, but again, what do I know?

Do you have any opinions on this? What is the preferred ratio for non-species specific shore fishing?

Thanks for your thoughts.

You can use such a reel for this. One limitation I see is that since it is a smaller reel it may have lower line capacity. If you get a big fish on, or get snagged you may find that you don't have enough line for a full days fishing.

Most people use larger spin casting reels designed for saltwater use for shore casting as they are easier to cast then bait caster reels - until you can the hang of casting a bait caster.

The gear ratio is totally a personal choice with most folks using single action mooching reels for trolling. The gear ratio depends on how much you want to fight the fish bringing it in or let the reel do more of the work.

Last edited:
I don't think it really matters since you are unlikely to catch anything from shore that will be so big that the higher gear ratio is going to be that much more work. But if you think you will need the lower gear to winch them in then go for the 5.8 ratio. The hookset will come more from the rod than the reel.

Also, the lures you will be fishing won't need the faster retrieve to get the proper action, so the 5.8 will be plenty fast.