prawning question

hooked for life

Hi all I am going to try prawning this year and need some help. If you are down 325ft one day and 250ft the next day what do you do with the extra rode, do you put a weight on it to keep it sunk or what?
Sorry might seem like a dumb question but I have never tried this before.

thanks for any responses in advance.
Peter

That and/or use the leaded ground line!!! It makes sure you don't have a bunch of line floating on the surface to get caught up in another boats prop!!

Thanks for the quick reply, another quick question what do you use to weight the traps? I was thinking of using a few coils of pencil lead around the outside of the traps??????

quote:Originally posted by hooked for life

Thanks for the quick reply, another quick question what do you use to weight the traps? I was thinking of using a few coils of pencil lead around the outside of the traps??????

i usually tie 12 oz weights quarterly around the perimiter of the inside of the trap....works well...as far as the rope, just a weight about 100ft down from the bouy will work fine