Marine Engine Oil

fish brain

Crew Member
How does marine engine oil differ from regular oil?
Do I need to use it in my motor?

I've been using Castrol/Quaker State in my outboards for 15 years.
There was a post many years ago where the oil was graded
marine vs automotive and virtually no difference.

Last edited:
I‘m sure marine oils do in fact contain extra additives mostly do to maintaining viscosities longer in high RPM situations seen in outboards. But are they necessary. If your under warranty I would say yes for sure. After that if you change it regularly I highly doubt it makes much of a difference. But its a peace of mind type thing. There are many places in the real world where marine oil is not easily obtainable and their engines run just fine for many years.

I use Royal Purple 15w-40 in my little diesel and Volvo-Penta filters. The oil is what was recommended by mechanic at Gartland Marine. I can get cheaper oil and filters for sure but for piece of mine it's not a big deal in the scheme of things. Oil changes every 200hrs and still going strong with 2800hrs on the clock. Knock on wood.

How would you find which automotive filter would cross to your outboard? Trial and error?
Lots of info on the hull truth website. Lots of guys have them cross referenced to Wix filters. We can’t get those up here (at least at lordco we can’t, but we do have access to Baldwin filters which are phenomenal quality filters. Lordco can cross reference any wix number or other automotive filter you come up with.

Lots of info on the hull truth website. Lots of guys have them cross referenced to Wix filters. We can’t get those up here (at least at lordco we can’t, but we do have access to Baldwin filters which are phenomenal quality filters. Lordco can cross reference any wix number or other automotive filter you come up with.