Kicker steering rear station ideas.

BryceWCP

Hi guys. I have an older searay 268 with a mercruiser 454 abs bravo drive. I’d like to change the kicker steering setup. Long story short it was a crappy design by the previous owner causing a failure to the main bravo steering. Anyways…. I have an older mercury 9.9 with remote controls. Id like to put a stand alone steering wheel for the kicker at the transom. As some of you may know the transom on these boats is a bit low and vary narrow so drilling a hole and mounting the works below deck is not an option. Im going to have to get something fabricated. Im looking for some ideas from you guys. Im sure someone els has done this and has ideas and comments

thanks in advance.
Bryce

I will likely have to move the bbq and make that spot for a wheel and kicker controls. Will get better pictures soon

So I've been steering my kicker with a tiller for the last 6 years. Decided to put hydraulic steering on and while I have always thought it was great sitting at the back looking forward I decided to put it on the back of the cabin . Took the boat out for the first time today and am so happy with my decision on placement. Controls are still on the way. I think just a Troll Master throttle control for now and full remote next year. 20220310_092609.jpg

just go with hdy steering ditch the power assit and add 3 way valves to switch between main and kicker .... thats what i have done before on my old rig V6 4.3 I/O to 9.9 ht yamaha

just go with hdy steering ditch the power assit and add 3 way valves to switch between main and kicker .... thats what i have done before on my old rig V6 4.3 I/O to 9.9 ht yamaha
The way my helm is set up it’s a real pain in the butt. I’d like to be steering from the transom while I’m fishing. The boat has gone through a full engine rebuild and much more this winter. Hydraulic steering is not in the budget!

I went wireless electric and it works FANTASTIC.