Jetski fish or use a boat, ? For a newbie?

Booniefisher

Here is the dilemma. I already have a JetSki set up for fishing but have not gone in the ocean and done it yet. I am an expert Surfer so I am not concerned about the ocean but I have found a really good deal on a 21 foot Seaswirl striper boat, should I just jump into the boat or start with Jetski and make sure I actually enjoy the sport. Appreciate any advice.

Unless you are very mechanically inclined and rich I would stick with the jetski. Find friends with boats and get out and fish with them, it will help you learn to fish on the jet ski. You can also figure out which boat will suit you long term.

Boat fishing allows multiple lines and lures at different depths so will be easier than jet ski fishing. I love the the idea of jet ski fishing but it is likely a lot harder than it looks. @jwood99 is now our resident expert! Check out his clearly coastal YouTube videos

If you don't even know if you like fishing yet, I wouldn't buy anything until you've answered that question. Easiest way to do that in my opinion is to go out on a few charters. Just keep in mind the guide is a pro that probably fishes over 100 days a year. They will make it look easy, but you probably won't be nearly as successful by yourself at first.

Well here’s what got me going in the first place. I did go out on a panga in Panama and it was like the greatest experience ever and made me think. When I retire I want to do this well I’m retired and I’m starting to look into that path, etc..