I'm a noob- need advice Stamp River and Stuart Channel

saltytrees

Hi there,
I relocated to Alberta many years ago while a teenager and my Saltwater fishing, and fishing in general has been sparse ever since.

I have a trip planned this summer for the beginning of August and have a couple of questions. I am camping at Stamp River Prov park for a night, and looking to try my luck, I think that might be an okay time for sockeye, am I correct? Wife and kids will be sleeping in the truck, so plan to walk down in the morning. I have read that there is no fishing allowed 500m from the falls on the lower side, so hoping there is a means of walking down the shore from the campground. Is that ridiculous? Also, do you only need a salt water license (and salmon stamp) for the lower side of the falls?

A very different scenario, after paying $70 this weekend for 2.2lbs of live spot prawns locally, I am thinking of trying my luck in the Stuart channel. I will be on Salt Spring around the same time, and thinking of taking my boat out there, I remember prawning there as a kid, though don't remember much about the how to and don't dos. It's a bit complicated reading closures and regulations for someone who has been out of the game for so long. From what I understand there is a seasonal closure in May in that area, and then there is pulse fishing after labour day. So I should be allowed to lay down some traps, if I am not mistaken, and if so, do I need to keep out of the way of any traffic? I'd like to stay closer to the Salt Spring side of the channel. But I don't know how deep, bait, etc.

Any advice appreciated :)