I did something bad

Stizzla

Crew Member
I’m a year round boater (usually).

this year too much stuff happened and I did zero winter fishing. The last time I took my boat out was October 1st where I went for a super long run and went through a full tank of fresh gas.
So it’s been sitting in the driveway, at around 1/8 of a tank over the past 6 months. nothing added to it. I flush it with fresh water each time I use it.

what do I need to do to get it ready to use soon, just fill it with fresh gas and go?!
2021 Yamaha 115 with 24 hours on it. Had 20 hour servicing last fall.

thanks!

If it was your lawnmower I'd say flash it up, but it's not. I'm no expert, but from a bad experience with old gas, ie. being towed from Malcolm Island back to Telegraph Cove, killing a mini vacation, don't mess with it. Ditch the old gas and at least run the motor in the driveway until the crap is blown through.

Fill with ethanol free fuel and go 6 months is not a big deal especially since your only 1/8 tank so most of the fuel will be new. Would run a tank or 2 and then change the filter at fuel water separator. You could check it after first trip out and drain any water that may have made it way in (condensation in tank).

Hopefully you had premium fuel in there with no ethanol. I always try and keep a full tank over the winter if not In use so there’s no chance moisture can form inside the tank walls. Hopefully you have a fuel / water seperator filter . If you used premium 94+ octane you shouldn’t have a problem but you never know we did have some decent cold spells.

If it had not been run since Oct 1 I would worry more about damaging the motor through lack of oil. I would pull the sparkplugs and turn it over for 5 x 20 second intervals before reinstalling the plugs , checking batteries , racor , and fuel stabilizer.