Help identifying this boat please!

aussieantics

Hi guys,
Hoping someone can help me identify this boat. I am a complete noob and just looking for something safe to get my feet wet around howe sound over the next few years. One of my neighbours is wanting to get rid of this but has no idea what it is. Going to go and have a chat to him when i'm home in a few weeks. I was thinking maybe an Hourston Glascraft 14'?
Any help greatly appreciated.

IMG_6512.jpeg

Not sure if it’s a hourston. People normally keep the brand name on there if it’s a hourston. But looks like a clean old boat and would be great fun if you get a good deal on it

From looking at the Vintage of the outboard I would think the boat might be very early 80’s. I am not as well versed with the tiny Hourstons but it does have some lines that might lead me to think that as well. The easiest way of course would be to look for the HIN which will be on the AFT side of the transom. Hourston started using HIN numbers after 1975 even though it was not required in Canada until the 80’s because they were being sold in the US by then as well. Your boat also might have a compliancy tag somewhere near the motor well that will also be a dead giveaway to who made it (sometimes they are in odd places like right under the steering wheel) but this tag has a tendency to rot off as its made from trophy grade aluminum.
If you are looking for further information on HIN numbers or Compliancy Notices all very easily found with a google search.
My friends 1982 16’ Hourston had all of the above for identification.
On a different note. It might not have a HIN or a tag and you might have nothing to go on.
There were a lot of copycats and rip offs in those days from the stories I have been told.
If it has a HIN the first 3 letters will be ZHG if it was made by Chuck and Bill
and the last 2 digits will be the year like 82 for 1982.
Hope that Helps

Last edited: