Fishing Line

Kris

Hey all,..I am fairly new to the west coast fishing thing. Over the winter I have bought a $hit load of gear. Rods/reels...all sorts of stuff...moocho denero!!! I would now like some suggestions as to fishing line for the 5 Halibut rods/reels and 6 Salmon rods/reels. For reels I bought Okuma Convector cv45D line counter, and have them paired with 9 foot Okuma rods and Fenwick Rods...For Halibut I have 2 Lamiglass 5'6" (50-10lb) rods, 3 Quantum Blue Runner Gold 6'6" (20-50lb) rods.

Any favorite lines out there from you pros???

Kris

What the hell did you win the lottery or what ????? sounds like you spent a crap load of money on something you know little about,, good luck with that.. If you know that little of the line I would think that would be the least of your problems.. Maybe you should learn how to fish them then you would know what tackle to use....

Ha Ha,...No lottery, and I have been out there over the past couple of years. I am just looking for a Pro opinion on what line they use day in and day out...That is all

Standard is 25# mono for Salmon.

Maxima is great but pricy Berkley Big Game and the new Mustad are popular and reliable.

For Halibut you need 80# Tuf line.

I'm surprised the store you bought that stuff at didn't offer to sell you bulk line and spool the reels up for you, where do you live?

If you're not close to a saltwater tackle store look at buying your line online from a place like Cabelas they're really cheap compared to Canadain prices.

Thanks DB. I live in Alberta (Edmonton)...I wanted to hold off on buying bulk line until I got some advice from guys who fish everyday or close to it anyway.

I have fished Kitimat and Prince Rupert for the last 4 years with guides,... and now have made the jump to trying it out myself. I will still probably go with a guide a couple of times a year, but there is something about trying it yourself that is very rewarding for me.

Thanks again...