Downrigger Braided Line Results

flytyer

Well with us all hard into the season, i thought it would be a great time to ask all who have switched over from cable and to see how much gear you have gone through. I have finally reached the point that mayby its time to switch, lost a 15 lb ball, 2 48 inch power grips and a brand new fresh out of the package uv flasher, when my 1 year old cable broke after i let it out about twenty feet and stopped---snap---sorry that was what happened to me. Ok all you guys that get paid all the big bucks to do this every day ( just having fun) i know its alot of work, but you guys will have the best results.

[8D][8D]

Go to braid I have been useing it for two years now, will never go back.

One concern I have about the braided line is that, in my view, it won't release any positive electric charges as the braided line seems to be non-conductive of electricity. Theoretically, that would render the black boxes and even the natural boat generated voltage useless to attract (or repel) any fish. Or not?[?]

quote:Originally posted by El Pescador

One concern I have about the braided line is that, in my view, it won't release any positive electric charges as the braided line seems to be non-conductive of electricity. Theoretically, that would render the black boxes and even the natural boat generated voltage useless to attract (or repel) any fish. Or not?[?]

I've been using braid quite happily since last spring. No problems here.

The electric charges are a double edged sword. Yes, it would be nice to have the attracting effect if you happen to have the voltage dialed in correctly. However, if the voltage is off then you're actually repelling fish. I think I'd rather know that my boat isn't "hot" and at least I'm not repelling fish by using the braid.

I also like the fact that I can just tie knots in it, as opposed to have to deal with crimps.

I will admit that getting downrigger clips not to ride up the line is a hassle.