Diesel Air Heaters

Birdsnest

I've been running a espar D4 for over 12 years in my boat. Over the years I have replaced more than 3 thermostats, fuel pumps, and now I am having to replace a blower motor (400$) for the second time. This amidst a lot of maintanance of exaust pipes and air hoses. Note, aluminum tape is awesome.

Looks like a new Espar will be $1800 bucks but I see on the market many other units for as low as $300.

Looking for recommendations for an alternative to Espar.

Thanks

Timely question...as I have been trying to decide on which one to go with.. I think i have landed on planar as I just dont see what Espar charges extra for. I see lots of posts of folks being happy with the ebay/amazon $200 ones but just not worth the safety risk for me....electrical fires, CO, etc...

200 dollar Chinese heater. They're ripoffs of an espar anyways. They might not be as reliable as the brand names, but at 1/10th the cost it doesn't matter. With a proper marine installation there isn't really a safety risk, if they fail they're generally just not going to work, not kill you. Run a CO detector if you're worried about it.

Mine has been working great so far.

200 dollar Chinese heater. They're ripoffs of an espar anyways. They might not be as reliable as the brand names, but at 1/10th the cost it doesn't matter. With a proper marine installation there isn't really a safety risk, if they fail they're generally just not going to work, not kill you. Run a CO detector if you're worried about it.

x2 put one in in last year, no issues. I know @ship happens has had these in his boats as well with no issues.

Me too. $200 Chinese heater and 2 years later, it's just fine.

The gloomy internet reports are usually from people that do a sh*t job of installation, cannot read instructions or follow the abundant videos, and then they blame the heater.