Basic mechanical trouble shooting

Shepnoir

Well there I was first hali day of the season (for me) and I was stuck at the dock due to motor troubles. The real salt in the wound was seeing Dirty oar leave and come back with three halis before i even left the dock! *******!;) I know everyone has been there... all it was was a corroded distributor, but took someone that knew a bit of basic mechanics to figure it out. Needless to say that person was not me...give me a break I'm a carpenter by trade:p. It got me thinking, as I have many times before, what if I was on anchor off shore, or somewhere remote, or worst of all out with the family and have this happen. I would feel more conforable having a bit of knowlegde in getting things going again even if it was a McGyver fix. Anyone know of a crash course in basic marine mechanics, or if any others where interested, I think I could motavate a really good mechanic to have a day course. Thoughts / comments?

BTW yes I did get out, but no love from the hali gods. Oh well, still a better day than sitting in the office!

It's amazing how much you can fix with a can of WD-40 and another of Brakeclean.
Always have both with me in my hunting trucks and my boats.
I made the mistake of backing up too far on a ramp one time, trailer pulled the wifes LTD into the lake!
water was up to the front seats, pulled it out, yanked the carpets, pulled the drains in the floor pans, let it dry for a dy, sprayed the power seat buttons with the WD and the dist.with Brakeclean, started right up, ran another couple years before I traded it in!