12lb or 15lb cannon ball mold

crazycanuck

I'm curious as to what majority of guys use 12 or 15lb balls? I've got a bunch of lead (buck a pound = no brainer) and am going to order a do it mold not sure as to which one. I generally fish pretty shallow 25ft to 75ft and have the 1106 Scotties. The 15lb seem to be the deep offshore ball with HP downriggers... While im on that when fishing deep like 160ft do guys use flashers? with plugs and spoons? man am I itchin to get fishin!

I've been using 12#er for years and it's worked fine but I seldom go deeper than 100'. I just recently ordered a 15# mold so looking forward to pouring a few 15#'ers... will prob put the Do-It 12# mold up for sale sometime in the future...

I'm new to Campbell river this year. Had to upgrade to 15# Lots of tidal rip and so far all my fish have been caught @ 190 ft. My riggers aren't HP and seem to be doing fine just a little slower.

It's not worth it in the long run. I own three 15# molds and two melting pots. Buy the time I buy and keep up good quality safety equipment, propane, etc. It is cheaper just to buy balls on Craigslist.

If I had to choose just one mold, it would be a 15# , with two eyelets, one to attach the snubber and one for a dummy flasher. But I agree with FA for me it would not be worth the hassle or initial cost. Lead, mold, lead melting pot, propane, safety equipment (gloves, eye protection, mask, etc). For the amount I lose them, it is better to buy them. Take a scale with you though, not all cannonballs weigh what they are supposed to.

It's not worth it in the long run. I own three 15# molds and two melting pots. Buy the time I buy and keep up good quality safety equipment, propane, etc. It is cheaper just to buy balls on Craigslist.

i will buy a 15 mold without fin if u want to sell?

FA, he loses quite a few on a day!!!!!
buy a 12 or 15 just go buy one. your balls are never deep buy the 12 easier to find