Right handed fishing reels

Steve95

As a right handed person who has fished for 50 years I find it strange that when I walk into a store here on the Island, nearly all the level wind and centre pin reels are RH retrieve, which is actually for a lefty. After fishing for 50 yrs, I have always casted and controlled the rod with my right hand. My freshwater fishing gear, as well as fly rods have always been that way. Nearly all the spinning reels are the opposite and are set up what I consider the correct way for a righty, with a LH retrieve, so I find that a little confusing. As I am just starting out with saltwater setups I went to buy 2 downrigger setups, as well as 2 bottom setups today and looked at an endless array of RH retrieve reels but very little LH retrieve. Not a big deal with the downriggers as I got a couple of inexpensive centre pins for those and they are easy to change over but I wanted to put level winds on the bottom rods and I think they only had 2 reels. I'm sure I can find them online, just seems odd that they want to force both LH and right handed people to reel one way. And no, I don't want to fish with the reel upside down and wind backwards.

yanks have to reinvent every thing when the brits get it right first time ....lol unload the pop corn time ..
just like driving .... what gives

There are lots of left hand reels available if you look for them

Attachments

• 3C98019A-C41E-4613-A91C-8F18411DD7A8.jpeg
    3C98019A-C41E-4613-A91C-8F18411DD7A8.jpeg
    41.7 KB · Views: 39
As fishtofino mentioned there are quite a few reels available that you can buy lefty, or switch the handles for left or right retrieve.
I had always been a lake spinning reel guy up to last year and used a left hand retrieve like you said for casting control and such, but last year when I switched to saltwater moochers, I use all righty reels. It was a little awkward the first couple of times, but now I can reel up jellyfish and seaweed with the best of em!