Farmed Salmon

KoneZone

I will not eat any Farmed Salmon. If I am ordering off of a menu I always ask if they are offering WILD Salmon. Although I am no expert on this matter it is fairly obvious that there are drawbacks. I think that a farm raised Cat Fish is OK now and then but Salmon, NEVER! Stand up for your wild stocks before it is too late. I am quite sure this is a topic where I can learn from many of you fellow sportsman. Thank you in advance for you thought induced comments. Mike Hyneman / KoneZone.com

Hi KoneZone, I agree with your position on farm raised salmon. When I lived in Edmonton I would always ask if the salmon was wild and the usual response was............. "farm raised in the wild"! Sooooooooo, I ordered chicken! Seawolf 1

Im no expert and dont know the facts,
and call me crazy but ide rather eat the farmed salmon and leave the wild ones inthe ocean[?]

There is still a place for farmed salmon.... ON Land!
and on some one elses dinner plate. Still need to feed world deamnd and farmed salmon can do just that and protect our wild stocks at the same time. Farm away! but keep it out of our oceans.

nedarb2,

The reason people are against farmed salmon is because it damages the wild stocks extensively. So I understand that if you don't know the facts, it seems better to eat farmed and leave the wild alone, but it doesn't work that way. The production of farmed salmon is devastating to the health of wild stocks.

I agree with Seawolf, the farmed fish should be on land. It would cost more initially, but in the long run, would profit in the end because the wild stocks would be better. They already farm salmon on land in New Zeland, but our government decided to go against all the scientific advice (that it paid to have done) and went with pens.