Coast Reels DT1?

I dono if that's a great reason to give up on them. I'm not a dr1 owner but I have had 2 tr3 reels have issues in the first couple days of use this year (out of four tr3s total). I didn't give up on those. I fixed or had them fixed and moved on. None of the reels are flawless (I spun a paddle handle off a tr3 yesterday randomly). I'd just ask hc to loctite the screws and re spool it. Pretty small problem.

Yeah it is a small problem. but doesn’t instil confidence in the product and not what I expect for the money spent. It’s a problem I’ve never experienced with any of my other reels, especially after the second use. I’m glad I didn’t have a monster spring on, the reel was about to fall off. Have a great night,good luck out there!

I can understand your concern, first time owning a Coast reel.
I have been using them for almost 10 years with very minimal repairs.
A broken tiny clicker spring years ago, factory sent me a few spares right
after my email. Another buddy also had a loose reel foot and Neil from Coast
was all over it, even offered him an immediate replacement. Lots of us in
Winter Harbour have been using them exclusively and I’m slowly getting rid
of all my non-Coast reels. I’ve never replaced a bearing and the drags don't
creep……. super smooth drag etc. Good luck going forward!
Best value on the market in my opinion.

Neil here from Milroy, (Coast Reels). I am so sorry to hear of your issues with our reel. I must admit we have had a few QC issues this year. One is missed Loctite, the other is some reels the silicone was missed on the cork for the drag. I really hope you give us a chance to remedy things for you as we truly believe these are the best reels on the market. If you like you can bring your reels directly to Milroy, (564 John Street, Victoria BC) or return them to Harbour Chandlers and we will take care of things at no cost to you.