Best tackle prices/selection on South Island?

Little Hawk

Howdy,

Took my 14/yr old Daughter out to the Head/Trap Sat for the night bite.

Turned into a gong-show.

West of the 'Trap' a 40-foot reef managed to sneek up on me.
Short version: lost all the cable/weight/release off one downrigger as well as all tackle from all three rods... Ka-ching - $80/bucks!

I'm new to fishin' here... what can I say?

Most of the gear I lost was purchased from Island Outfitters and I was wondering how many of you buy your gear there or where you go for the best deals?

Back in Vancouver - 25yrs ago - we had old Army & Navy on Hastings to get the best deals and selection.

Does Victoria have a place like the old A & N in Vancouver?

Cheers,
Terry

Nikka Fishing in Richmond BC.

oufitter's , trotac are the places to buy your gear in victoria
they have the best selection.
Most crappy tire stores and capital iron also have a more limited
selection of gear.
Sounds like you met the trap shack reef [xx(]
get your self a chartplotter, expensive but you'll never lose
gear like that again.

Im all for outfitters but I find Scotty stuff cheaper at Wal mart
it seems if you get to know someone at outfitters you can get the good guy price $$

I wonder if we as a group could go to places like scotty and get a bulk disc ??

On another board I used to be on they did that sort of (group buy ) fairly often

tubbed

Howdy

Yeah I hear you. The only problem with that is that if Island Outfi...got word that Scotty was selling direct - they'd freak.

Cheers,
Terry

ya trotac is always the cheapest in my experience plus a couple of very helpful guys - you also don't get the hollier then thou attitude that select employees at island outfitters offer with every purchase.

Trotac is the cheapest for anything marine in Victoria. I guess that’s the draw to get customers to fight traffic all the way down there. I would rate Victoria marine retailers as follows: