Alberni Inlet Fish Kill

I won't be shedding any tears for the mackerel but clearly there is something wrong. Maybe water temperatures? Virus? Pollution?

do they usually come up that high? mabey more fresh water coming down into the system, mabey a shock to the system.

Not being an expert, my thoughts are mackerel are a voratious predator and they chased the herring into water that did not have enough oxygen to survive in. This has happened in US coastal waters, I remember reading about this.

This was a scary statement from the article:

"For our salmon's sake, the more that die (mackerel), the better," Leyenaar said. "In four year's time, we might not see a [sockeye salmon] run at all."

This was referring to the mackerel eating salmon fry. However, if my understanding of the sockeye life cycle is correct, socks live in the lakes for 2 or 3 years before migrating to the ocean. How big would these sockeye be by then? I'm pretty sure they're well past the "fry" stage, and more like a good size smolt. Most of the mackerel I saw out there were actually very small, so I think they'd be pretty optimistic in targeting a smolt. And even if they do manage to nail the sockeye smolts, sockeye return at various ages, from 4 to 6 years old, which ensures a run should never be completely decimated by a one-time event.

Chinook, Coho and Steelies also smoltify in freshwater, and therefore should not be at huge risk.

The only two species that migrate to the ocean as fry are Chum and Pinks. Chum return at various ages as well, so there may be a couple of affected WCVI returns in the future, but not decimated.

This leaves Pinks. They all goto the ocean as fry, and all return at 2 years. The only run that could theoretically be eaten to extinction...but that would require their existence on WCVI.

As much as the mackerel suck and can be problematic, I'm not as concerned as Mr Leyenaar.

Last edited by a moderator: