1981 Campion Alert HT restore

ktown

Hello, brand new to the forum and a new to me boat owner.

I bought this boat with the intentions of fixing up the interior, motor is strong just needs a carb rebuild! and the leg was recently rebuilt.

My question is what kind of cost am I looking at to redo the floors/stringers and new upholstery?

Just an approximate cost of what I should be budgeting for would be great!

$_20.jpg
IMAG0615.jpg
IMAG0616.jpg
IMAG0617.jpg
IMAG0618.jpg

Also whats the best way to waterproof the canvas snap cover?

Thank you! I enjoy reading through this forum

Hey there. Nice boat. I have a similar Campion 17.5 alert HT. Mines the outboard model but basically the same style. Depending on how handy you are, you can look to spend a few hundred for materials or up to a few thousand for labor if you have to farm it out. Awsome boat when it's done.

image.jpg

Wow looks amazing Clint! I have limited experience with carpentry and zero experience with fibreglass, even though I am mechanically inclined and a perfectionist would trial by error be a bad idea?, You've done an ace job with the exterior of the boat! Thats the same model as mine, 17.5 is what is on the sticker.

I guess my best bet is finding a good backyard guy to work and learn with because shop rates for this kinda stuff is expensive, but I assume for good reason because it looks like a lot of work. Do you have interior pictures also?

Thanks for the tip!, I see Costco carries this product online for a good price.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk

You could consider dumping the sleeper seats and go with swivel style. Depends on your preferences but the costs are likely lower and certainly more predictable vs taking it to an upholsterer. Also frees up floor space in a smaller boat.

Sent from my SM-G900W8 using Tapatalk