Yamaha Outboard Service

17 ft sea ranger

Hey all.....I have a 200hp yami that I want to take good care of obviously. question is, do I need to take the outboard to a Yamaha certified mechanic, or is any outboard mechanic ok?
As far as the 100hr service.....is that 100hrs after the 10hr service....making it 110hrs, and how far over that would you go before you service it?

thanks

Hey all.....I have a 200hp yami that I want to take good care of obviously. question is, do I need to take the outboard to a Yamaha certified mechanic, or is any outboard mechanic ok?
As far as the 100hr service.....is that 100hrs after the 10hr service....making it 110hrs, and how far over that would you go before you service it?

thanks

Interested in this as well.

For my 10 hour service I basically did myself. I’m no mechanic, made sure oil was clean and at appropriate levels, checked plugs and that’s about it. I’m at about 35 hours now and am wondering if I should go to 100 or just go get a baseline service done? I will be going to a certified Yamaha shop for that.

Chris Forsch @Forsch Marine in Sidney.

If its going in for it's 100 hour service, spend the money on a certified mechanic. There are a lot of checks to be made at this point that can identify and prevent a premature failure. This should include retorquing bolts, belt tension inspection and cooling system flush and inspection, among others.
Donnie d, if you have only 35 hours on the boat, you need to have your engine oil, oil filter and fuel filter replaced now. The break in period is when the most wear and tear happens; things such as piston rings wearing into position, and rust preventative oil treatment applied at the factory gets flushed out. Even your fuel system will have contaminants in the filter bowl and fuel lines.
Grease fittings will also need to be topped up, as your seals will have swelled with use.