Woods for Smokers

Bassblaster

Hey guys,

With the salmon returning and my luck improving I figured it was time to drag out the smoker I've been packing around for 14 years and never used.

Question is, with all the different types of wood chips available, what's the difference between them other than species of tree? For instance does one have stronger qualities? Is one a sweeter smoke? Does one work better for candied salmon than the others? Burn times? ETC.

Any feed-back about your personal experiences is appreciated.

I have been using maple because a friend turns wood bowls and I get it for free.
When I do lox ( cold smoked for 7 days) I like to start with maple then change to cherry and lastly apple. It turns out amazing.

I've tried many different woods for smoking , my favorite is alder.
there's something about the flavor it gives the salmon that's better
than the rest.

Alder is nice, when i make indian candy i like to finish with some apple wood.

for white & other lrg. springs sometimes i use hickory kinda reminds me of ham...sammy

Last edited by a moderator:
I usually purchase Little Chief Smokehouse chips in three flavours. Alder, apple and cherry and mix them together in a bucket. I find the aromatics of the alder and apple offset the sweeter more intense flavours of the cherry. It works well for me and friends and family seem to agree.;) eman

Hickory
Pungent, smoky, bacon-like flavor.
Good with Pork, chicken, beef, wild game, cheeses.

Pecan
Rich and more subtle than hickory, but similar in taste. Burns cool, so ideal for very low heat smoking.
Pork, chicken, lamb, fish, cheeses.

Mesquite
Sweeter, more delicate flavor than hickory. Tends to burn hot, so use carefully.
Most meats, especially beef. Most vegetables.

Alder
Delicate flavor that enhances lighter meats.
Salmon, swordfish, sturgeon, other fish. Also good with chicken and pork.

Oak
Forthright but pleasant flavor. Blends well with a variety of textures and flavors.