Winter Harbour Accomodations!

Saltwater Cowboy

Hey all! I've been fishing Nootka Sound now for the last 12 years or so and I'm getting al ittle bored with it! I'm wondering what the fishing is really like in Quatsino Sound (Winter Harbour) and even Kyuquot Sound? I've heard great stories of awesome fishing but also of brutal weather and constant winds! What's the truth? Also where do you stay if you want to bring your own boat and stay in Winter Harbour I know where to launch just wondering if there's a floating lodge with moorage or something like that with cabins to sleep in? I wnat to explore but not if it means brutal weather and rough sea's the whole time! I can fish the inside of nootka and it's as calm as can be! Thanks for the feedback!

SW Cowboy

I do the Fishing, God does the Catching!

there is accomadation on the white side of kuuquot, as far as fishing sheltered, launch you boat at fair harbor. for fishing at winter harbour, you could stay at holberg, which ids on the way, or there is a small hotel gen store liquor store in winter harbor. salmon fishing in rupert sound, quatsino, kuyuquot is similar to nootka sound - awsome. be sure to stock up in campbell river or port mcniel, as supplies can be short on thast side of the island, there is moorage at winter, and it is sheltered, but small

thanks for the info! Is it really as bad weather wise as people make it seem? I have a 21 foot Grady White so I'm not alien to rough water and how to deal with it but alot of the people i fish with are a bit green and they enjoy the inside waters of Nootka sound is there similar places to that in Quatsino with the same great fishing?