vacuum sealers?

anyone have good or bad reviews of vacuum sealers? used one on my last deer and cant believe I've gone so long without one!

I have a food saver. I love it. I got mine for Xmas, and like you, I can't believe I went so long without one.

I've got the Costco food saver. I think I saw they're on sale again. Pretty good deal, $40 off.

I have been using a Food Saver sealer for a few years. Really watch how I do it and make sure every bag is properly sealed. Never the less, about 20% loose their sea. I collect those nd use them for smoking but it is annoying. Perhaps thicker bags but I am getting tired of the bags loosing their seal so I am also open to ideas.

I have been using a Food Saver sealer for a few years. Really watch how I do it and make sure every bag is properly sealed. Never the less, about 20% loose their sea. I collect those nd use them for smoking but it is annoying. Perhaps thicker bags but I am getting tired of the bags loosing their seal so I am also open to ideas.

After putting the fish in we clean the sealing area with paper towel. Then seal it twice - one above the other. It's a bit more time but seems to help.

I posted in the other thread previously. I have gone through 3 foodsavers now and no more. These machines are the cat's azz and will last you a life time.

http://www.qualitymatters.com/VacMaster-Chamber-Vacuum-Sealer-with-Oil-Pump-p/qmvp-215c.htm

Ha ha I just noticed they added Ali's (the owner of Bloody Decks website) video to the site. If you join BD you get a discount as well. You can't use thicker bags with the foodsaver. I have tried and it does not work. The only disadvantage to this machine, and I mean the only one, is that you can't do whole fillet sides of salmon. Other than that it is a no brainer. Soups, stews, crab, or anything with liquid is fully bagged and DOUBLE sealed. You can get bags that are over twice as thick as the foodsaver bags and they cost about 1/3 of the price.