Smoker recommendations

Prfisher

I'm planning to buy an electric smoker & am looking for suggestions. I have borrowed two units this year, a Little Chief & a Bradley analog.
I found the Chief didn't produce smoke well, even though it was a pretty warm day. The Bradley worked well, but I feel the biscuits are a bit spendy.
There are lots of different smokers available through Home Depot & other retailers. But living in Powell River it's an expensive ferry ride to check them out.
Any suggestions will be appreciated.

Couple buddy's are using the "Masterbuilt" smokers that are priced in the $250-$300 range
and like them.
I have always used the Chief smokers.
They work fine also.

I use the big chief as well. It’s not fancy but it gets the job done.

Maybe in that little chief you borrowed, it’s possible the element in it was weak and needs to be replaced.

I have a Masterbuilt and really like it.

IMHO I prefer the Bradley type smoker with the automatic puck dispenser and bowl of water to extinguish the used wood puck. I find this system gives a less acrid taste to the food compared to a Big Chief. If you use a Big Chief you need to check and replenish the smoker chips often to avoid over burning them.

With a Bradley you can adjust the heat of the element, with Big Chief you cannot. Also with a Bradley type you can get the cold smoker accessory which makes some nice lox and smoked cheese among other things.

Been using the Big Chief for 25 years now, 2 pans of 1/2 - 3/4 burnt wood is a good amount of smoked flavour,
i don't know if i would get the same product out of the Bradley smoker, will be buying it one day soon for the cold
smoke feature.

I kinda enjoy the old school way getting up to check the pan, i move the racks around so
everything is cooking at the same time, just keeping a close eye on the prized fish, not turn
on and leave, there's a crucial time when you over cook your fish.

Get the Big Chief if your going that root not the little chief.