Salmon jigging techniques?

MadJigga

I'm new to this, anyone have some experience as far as techniques, gear, what to look for as far as location.

I jig for salmon every summer around the mouth of the Big Qualicum River in August. These are my lure of choice.
http://www.supertackle.info/info/lilnib
The last hour before dark, on the bottom... Works great.
I have numerous pictures of fish my kid's caught using this technique. Here's her biggest one though. I love this pic. (Proud dad moment) :)

Attachments

• image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    152.3 KB · Views: 188
have caught many salmon jigging with lures similar to what kildonan has shown. the colours white and green or blue work well. I can't emphasize enough that the harder you work the lure the better the results you should have. I drop the lure free-fall to the bottom, jig really hard pulling up quickly with the rod, and let it fall (drop the rod tip quickly to the water) a dozen times or so. then reel up quickly about 10'-15' and repeat. work it that way right to the surface and start over. try to jig hard every 10' or so of the water column. I seem to catch most on or near the bottom or within the top 50' of the water column. but you can catch them at any depth. the more erratic the action of the lure and the quicker it darts around, the more fish you'll catch.

k. I have multiple lures that fit that description for bottom fishing, I'll have to pull the trebles off and give them a go. Only reason I'm asking is, when I was fishing Pedder Bay last weekend, I struck out trolling but a couple boats limited out jigging!

I've been in the same situation. we've killed them jigging when we and others couldn't scratch one up trolling. but have been in the opposite situation where trolling seemed to work best and jigging seemed futile. just have to try whatever seems to work and stick with it I've found. when it doesn't work anymore switch it up....