Quesnel Lake Rookie

Red Monster

I'm soon heading to Quesnel Lake for a week and would appreciate any help you could provide about how to fish the lake. I'll have my 20 foot boat and riggers. I assume I can troll. Gear? I'm a complete rookie at lake fishing. What do I use for lures and how do I fish them? Thanks

personally the Apex 4.5 caught both Lakers and rainbows. Green, blue, glow white, black n pearl, seem good. Lakers like a dodger and spoon.
It is such a big lake, depends where you stay, then find some fish close by.
Standard rig for rainbows would be a big gang troll and a Tee spoon about 2-4' behind.
3" Tomic plugs and 3.0 Apex are popular.

Where are you staying ? We use 4.5'' Apex's for Lakers. Silver/black , silver/blue,watermelon, firetiger lots of colors work there.
Water was super high but heard its dropping.
Downrigger 60-200' .

Last edited:
I'm soon heading to Quesnel Lake for a week and would appreciate any help you could provide about how to fish the lake. I'll have my 20 foot boat and riggers. I assume I can troll. Gear? I'm a complete rookie at lake fishing. What do I use for lures and how do I fish them? Thanks
Okay, you must be back by now. What is your report?

trout.jpg

Attachments

• trout.jpg
    trout.jpg
    202.7 KB · Views: 15
  • trout.jpg
    trout.jpg
    202.7 KB · Views: 18
Had a great time and caught some big trouts. Some first-timers landed trout too. Only caught one on an apex and about 6 on spoons, fishing 80 to 120 feet deep trolling at 2mph. Caught all Lakers, no Rainbows. Hardly any boats out on this huge lake. This lake holds big fish, 10 to 20 pounds; you just need to find them.

Rule of thumb for Quesnel Lake trolling speed is less than 2.5 mph for Lakers and 2.5-4.5 mph for the big rainbows. Beautiful looking lakers in your pics!

Cheers!

Ukee

The boys smoked a few of those big lakers and they came out awesome.

No the biggest was under 10 pounds, but apparently 20 pounders are not uncommon.